Geocaching 101

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Cool stuff
http://www.geocaching.com/guide/default.aspx

Welcome to the geocaching community! If you still have questions after reviewing this information, we recommend that you search our Help Center or ask a question in the geocaching Forums.

The Game

What is geocaching?

How is the game played?

What are the rules of geocaching?

What do I need to go geocaching?

Where are geocaches located?

Are there different types of geocaches?

How did geocaching start?

What are Geocaching Challenges?

Getting Started

What kind of cache should I look for on my first adventure? Watch Video

Searching for geocaches

Loading coordinates onto your GPS device

Finding Geocaches

What does a geocache look like?

What’s usually in a cache?

What should not be placed in a cache?

How do I find the cache and what should I do once I’ve found it? Watch Video

Can I move a cache once I find it?

What should I do if I discover that a cache has gone missing?

How do I log my find?

Hiding Geocaches

Who hides geocaches?

How do I hide a geocache?

When I submit a new cache for publication, how long will it take to be listed?

Does Geocaching.com or a volunteer physically check the cache placement before the listing is published?

Trackables

What are Trackables?

What should I do when I find a Trackable?

How do I log a Trackable?

Where do I get my own Trackable?

How do I activate a Trackable? Watch Video

Geocoin FAQ

Travel Bug® FAQ

What does…mean?

What does this word or acronym mean?

What does this icon mean?

What’s in a Name?

How is geocaching pronounced?

What is the meaning of the word geocaching?

GPS

What is a GPS device?

How does GPS work?

If I use a GPS device, can someone track where I am going?

What features should I look for in a GPS device and where can I buy one?

Leave a Reply

